I recently got the idea that eating raw for a month could improve my skin’s health. After pigging out on fried delicacies this past weekend, my face told me in no uncertain terms that crap in is crap out. I was pancake face to work (at least, I felt like it) in order to cover the redness and bumps.

I’ve started making my lunches and dinners wholly raw. For those of you not in the know, “raw food” is simply food that’s not cooked (though some allow for heating up to 100˚ F or so), as some believe that high temperatures destroy much of the nutrients of food. I have yet to find a definitive answer to heat’s effect on nutrition, but my stint into raw foodism isn’t for that particular benefit. I’m trying to stop being a “french fry” vegan (personally, I’m more of a cereal vegan) and strictly being raw means I can’t reach for one of those super-salted, highly processed veg dinners of questionable nutritional value. In a moment of weakness, I made a batch of brownies and have eaten some every day, so I can’t claim to be 100% raw for this month. Snacks I’m being lenient on, but the three main meals I’m aiming for total rawnezz.

Monday night I made some deeeelicious stuffed portobello mushrooms and ate them before I thought to take pictures, so I’m going to hold off posting that recipe until I make it again. Tonight, however, I remembered—I even put my meal in a pretty bowl for you. I made my tried-and-true “leftover scraps stir-fry delight”, which is a fancy way of saying “everything I have in my fridge drizzled with soy/teriyaki and chili sauce”. But this time I didn’t fry it, just stirred, so I’ll refer to my masterpiece as Spicy broccoli cashew stir no-fry. I quite literally used scraps and didn’t have enough for a full serving, so this is an estimated recipe (I also used cucumbers instead of mushrooms, but I think the latter would taste much better):

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup broccoli florets
  • 1 cup raw cashews, chopped
  • 2–3 large celery stalks, chopped
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms of your choice, sliced
  • 1 tbs teriyaki sauce
  • 2 tsp chili sauce
  • 4 tsp grated ginger or 2 tsp ginger powder
Preparation:
  1. Start by cutting up the broccoli into small, bite-sized pieces and place into a medium-sized bowl.
  2. Add the celery, mushrooms, and cashews into the bowl. Add spices and sauces.
  3. Mix together, until all veggies and nuts are covered.
  4. If you just came home from work and whipped this up, eat it! If you have some time to spare, let the mix sit for at least 20 minutes. The longer it sits, the better the veggies can soak up the flavor. Enjoy!

Also on goneraw.com

