I have been wanting to update for a while, but my internet at home has been barely alive for a few weeks now. AT&T and Comcast are the only players in town, and both are corporations that I refuse to support (for reasons which I’ll elaborate on with a more reliable connection). So I’ve resorted to using free wifi where I can find it. The most reliable sources around me have slowly disappeared, so now I’m stuck with my city’s extra bootleg, no reception, janky wifi that I count myself lucky if it keeps my connection for more than 5 minutes at a time. In fact, I’m hurriedly typing this out this morning before it gives out on me.

Thankfully, internet at work is great. Super fast, reliable, and sourced internally. It means I have to stay after hours to surf the interwebs, but my conscience is clear 🙂 I want to get my “Best of October” up because I have a lot of fun outfits that I actually like. However, I’m also participating in NaNoWriMo, so updates will likely be very few this month as I dedicate any writing opportunities to my story. I’ve never finished 50,000 words in the years that I’ve participated, but I think this year is going to be the year. Wish me luck!

Stable internet connection! Update time:

Why I h8 AT&T and Comcast

I have personal and political beef with AT&T. Personally, they have awful, vindictive customer (dis)service. About a year or two ago, they overcharged my mom for he phone bill, somewhere in the hundreds of dollars, not chump change. She maintained the charges were incorrect and instead of giving them undeserved money, tried contacting the company to get the issue resolved. They decided to send a threatening letters and a credit company to extort the money from her. My dad was able to help her get in touch with the Better Business Bureau and let AT&T know they couldn’t strong-arm her. AT&T eventually dropped the erroneous charges. Of course, if she had overpaid them, they would have taken 4–6 weeks to give her back her money (as they collected interest on it), but miss a payment a nanosecond after the due date and they ruin her credit. Politically, AT&T supported the wars of aggression in Iraq and Afghanistan through their maximum allowable campaign donations to the Bush/Cheney campaign in 200 and 2004. They also eagerly supported McCain/Palin, but that nonsense was nipped in the but before it got ridiculous.

As for my disdain for Comcast…well, there’s plenty to dislike about them. I’m all about matching my actions to my values, so I’m not going to willingly support these two businesses.

