Credit: NASA, ESA, and M. Livio, The Hubble Heritage Team and the Hubble 20th Anniversary Team (STScI)

Among my favorite pastimes, stargazing is one of them. Sadly, I live in a place that suffers from a bit of light pollution, so I don’t get to see as many or as vividly the constellations of the night sky. Still, when I can make out the plane of our galaxy, I get excited thinking about our neighboring star systems, the vastness of space, and how much we have yet to learn.

Check out this photo series of galaxies and other beautiful space phenomena at Tree Hugger. I really don’t have a reason to post them other than they’re simply amazing.

And if these images aren’t mind-blowing enough, check out this lovely image of our home (earth) in relation to, well everything else (that we know of). It’s quite humbling that, whether we get our act together and clean up our planet or let it rot away into nothingness, earth is not even a fraction of a speck of dust in the grand scheme of things. There’s nothing significant about our planet other than we need it to live. If life on earth were to end, it/we would doubtingly be missed.

