Source: Decodir.com

This post from Living Antenna is rather timely for me since I’m currently purging myself of stuff that has been accumulating in my house and never/hardly used over the years. Some call it “downshifting“, living simply, “minimalism“, or what have you. It’s all antithetical to American culture, so it’s not an easy road to travel. At any rate, minimalism is my aspiration, but there are things that I have and love but under that concept, they’d have to go because they lack utility. Everything I Have offers another framework: dividing everything into four categories:

  • Beautiful things (keep)
  • Emotionally important things (keep)
  • Tools, devices, and applications (keep)
  • Everything else (give away)

Beauty is very important to me, and I have a few emotionally important items, too. I’m sure, though, that the things I’ve mentally marked as too “beautiful” and  “emotional” to get rid of will become less so when I do a proper inventory and start clearing stuff out vigorously. Check out Everything I Have and think about what you have that you think you need.

And yes, this is definitely a First World Problem. The idea of “living with less” makes no sense if you don’t already horde stuff. Most people can’t horde because the 30% of us in the “first world” took it from them.

(This is off-subject, but do you know how many obnoxious, pretentious images I had to wade through to find something that represented ‘minimalism’? All of them were of sprawling, space wasting, white living rooms with giant flat screen TV screens, cube couches, tatami mats, and wall-sized windows overlooking acres of private property. Notice the one I chose doesn’t have a TV and uses space a bit more efficiently. Don’t know who started that “trend”, but I have to save that rant for another day.)

