Oh snap, IA logo for the Liebster Award just got nominated for a Liebster Award by Kelly Lynne!

I’ll admit, I’m not a “real” blogger, even though I’ve been on this internet for a long time. I don’t know all the ins and outs of blogging, and I sure as heck didn’t know what this German fabrication was that has been thrust upon me. Being the nerd inquisitive person that I am, I couldn’t jump into something without knowing what the heck I was supporting. So, after a simple internet search extensive research, I found that the origins of the Liebster Awards are murky and what an initiate nominee must do to participate has changed over the years. Here’s the basic idea:

  • This is an internet award and is given to bloggers by other bloggers.
  • It follows similar principles as a chain letter, in the sense that it should be passed on to a certain number of people.
  • The bloggers who are “tagged” usually have a small readership, anything from 200–3,000 followers. (Yes, I am Internet not-famous!)
  • Bloggers are asked to perform certain rituals answer questions posed by the nominator, post random facts about themselves, or some other act.
  • The idea is to help promote other small blogs, but can easily be thought of an an evil blog-based chain letter.

(Thank you fellow knowledge hunters for the info!)

I was nominated under my old blog name, Crunchy & Chic, which is now dead and gone. Here are the rules as I received them from Kelly Lynne:

Rules

1. Answer the questions given and then come up with 10 new ones to ask your nominees.
2. Nominate 8 other blogs, let them know you have nominated them and put a link to their blog in your post.
3. No Tag backs.
4. Nominees must have under 200 followers on any platform.
5. You must tell all the blogs that you nominate that you have nominated them.

Here are my answers to Kelly Lynne’s questions…

1.  Why did you begin blogging?

I started blogging at least thrice, actually. The first time was back when LiveJournal (RIP) used to be where all the cool kids went. I was studying abroad for the first time and wanted a way to document my experience. This WordPress iteration to be honest, was for purely stupid reasons. My (old) wardrobe mostly consisted of thrifted and vintage clothes and I liked taking pictures of my creative outfits for reference. I saw a lot of other people posting pictures of their outfits that weren’t half as cool as mine so I thought, why not? and threw up my janky mirror shots. I started writing about how thrifted clothes were more environmentally friendly, and sustainability (as a social, environmental, political, and economic issue) eventually took over the blog. I have two other, completely unrelated Tumblr accounts that I recently started because I had a bunch of free time and got tired of playing Candy Crush Saga for hours a day.

2.  Name one thing that makes you happy.

Food. Food makes me happy.

3.  What is your favourite quote?

“We should really love each other in peace and harmony. Instead, We’re fussing and fighting, and them working iniquity.” —Fussing and Fighting, Bob Marley

4.  Where do you come from?

I never actually verified this, but I believe I came from my mother’s uterus.

5.  Name your top five favourite blogs.

I spend most of my time on Tumblr now a days, so I have to include them. Many of my favs are NSFW, so here’s an edited sampling of some of the blogs I follow:

  1. Anyroads
  2. Post Racial America
  3. Post Punk Kitchen
  4. Vegan Publishers
  5. NPR
  6. (Bonus!) Alternet

6.  What or who inspires you the most?

My empathy. I have my bouts of cynicism and question why I bother trying to help other people when life is full of suffering, selfishness, and brutality. But at the end of the day, the desire to make a positive impact on the world overwhelms the “screw everyone else and do what I want” attitude. I’m not going to get into politics, but it’s one reason why I identify as liberal.

7.  If you could invite three people (living or dead) to dinner who would they be?

Gee, I have no idea. I’ll just say me, myself, and I, since we’re such great company!

8.  What is your favourite social media: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest or other?

It’s a tie between Tumblr and Facebook. I check those two religiously for my socialization/wasting time needs. Twitter is purely my news source.

9. What is your favourite post that you have written?  Include a link.

Hmm, I’d have to say it’s this one because it provides a good overview of how I live a sustainable life: Sustainability and Social Justice.

10.  What is the hardest thing you’ve found about blogging?

Posting regularly! I have lots of ideas of what I want to write about, but being the perfectionist that I am coupled with my strong desire to fact-check and provide the most informative, linked-filled articles I can, it can take literally hours if not days for me to write one post. I remember one time it took me at least 4 hours to compile all the info I needed to write one post. Too often, I end up instead putting it off and procrastinating with something fun.

My Nominees

Gosh, most of the blogs I follow have way more than 200 followers, I don’t know how I can come up with 10! I’ll have to make a separate post for who to nominate.

Until then…

