Golden flax seeds

One of my favorite handcrafted, organic hair and body product businesses (Brendita’s BodyWorks) seems to have gone under. She used to make hair gel that I really liked and I recently needed more of. I like supporting small businesses like Brendita’s, but so often their products contain ingredients from animals or leave lots of buildup in my locs (despite smelling delicious), so I tend to make my own stuff.

I’ve heard great things about flax seed as a hair gel, and found this recipe from Crunchy Betty: Homemade Hair Care: Flax Seed Hair Gel . This particular recipe suggests adding aloe vera gel, which I have growing in abundance, so I’ll have to try blending that in. Commenters suggested using brown flax seed for a larger gel yield, and cooking the seeds until they form a thick, but not (yet) gel consistency: it thickens as it cools.

