The racial privilege of voting with your dollars to create a "good food" system

The racial privilege of voting with your dollars to create a “good food” system

This text-heavy infographic from the Sistah Vegan Project complicates a often-spouted mantra: vote with your dollars. I must admit, I have used this phrase when I explain why I use my class privilege to purchase foods that are ethically-sourced and less environmentally detrimental than conventional goods. I’m aware that to say (and act) so is indeed a privilege—if you live in a food desert with hardly any fresh veggies, it’s not practical or practicable to assert that one should “vote” for organic tofu and kale over french fries at McDonalds. But I hadn’t thought of the racial implications to this mantra: if you live in a white supremacist country that intentionally seeks to incarcerated the descendants of slaves, voting (literally and with one’s money) is definitely impacted by race, not only class.

Check out the image and the listed sources for a more in-depth analysis of these issues: The Racial Privilege of Voting With Your Dollars to Create a ‘Good Food’ System |via Sistah Vegan Project

